4.27.2009

the northern lights and the southern comfort.

Went to NJ again for the 400th time this year.  More NJ in '09.  It was for Happy B-Day-Q Kim/Saves the Day & Alkaline Trio but I decided to stay on Sunday for baseball, the great American past time as displayed by dudes in shorts and hats.
The B-DayQ was pretty much the time of my life.  I had probably 69 beers (2 funneled, thanks Lu.) And 420 chips/dips.  The weather was absolutely beautiful and perfect for a gathering of friends.  I managed to hit a whiffle ball & get hit in the back of the head with a frisbee.  You can chalk that up to good aim by both the thrower and my head.  Lu did an excellent job grilling even though a LARPer made her drop a burger into the flames by "trying to help".  
I also managed to get in a tickle fight. Again. This seems to be happening more and more to me the older/drunker I get.  I don't know what my new fascination with tickle fighting is, but I have the pics to prove it happens often.  But other than that, nothing quite embarrassing happened.
The show was pretty awesome.  It was very hot and sweaty in there and we seemed kinda old compared to a lot of the crowd, but I saw a girl crowd surf 13 times; that was pretty cool.  Alk3 played one of my faves and I pretty much bugged out and jumped a lot.  Also, thought the bassist was a babe until he turned around and he looked like Uncle Fester from Adam's Family. 
Unfortunately one of our friends got into a 7 car pile up and had to get 7 seven staples in her head.  One for each car I guess? She was a champ though and bled a lot. Some guy sup'd her apparently, which rocks for both her and the guy.
That night we ate whatever food was left over, took birthday shots for/with Kim and passed out in her basement.  I had a dream that I murdered a lot of people.
The next day, which was also beautiful, I decided to stay in NJ and watch dudes play baseball.  I hoped to find the man of my dreams and what him pound out homers all day, but instead I drank beer with Lu, got an awkward bracelet tan and heckled players.  I did want to play but I was in sandals with no glove.  Next time.
We spent the afternoon in the hottest sun, literally cooking to absolute death, drinking Miller High Life and getting in fights.  But, shirtless dudes=good times, so fun was had.
Then, Lu and I went to lunch with Francis, Kathleen and KJH.  It was an interesting mix of people to have pizza with, but I had a good time.  It was nice to sit on the streets of NB and pretend I was in college again. 
At Lu's house we had a "lay in my backyard and listen to Kid Rock" sesh.  Followed by Rita's Ice (cherry ftw) and a fire pit.
Probably one of the nicest weekends I have had in a while.  Babes, beers, barbeque & baseball. 

1 comment:

  1. I'm sad I'm just reading this now, but seriously more NJ in 09. It's a place that can only be understood by experiencing it with the right people who get it. And I'm glad to say you've found that in us haha

    babes/beers/bbq=summer of 09, bring it on

    ReplyDelete