12.01.2010

have yourself a merry little christmas.

So, the Christmas (holiday if you want to be PC) season is upon us once again. This time of year I enjoy being inundated with holiday commercials, tunes and decorations. You can't help but feel a little itty bitty touch of magic in the air. People kinda have a bounce in their step. Well, some people.
As the weather gets colder, and the season more stressful I have begun to notice more and more angry couples whisper fighting. It is the oddest thing. Walking down the street, bumping along the subway, hailing a cab... etc. It is always the same scenario, just the setting is different. The girl is usually walking briskly ahead of a frustrated/down trodden boy. (It was probably his fault anyway). When they arrive at the crosswalk, the whisper/mumble fight is commenced, yet if you weren't paying close attention, it would look like they weren't even talking at all. The girl is angrily staring straight ahead, shaking her head erratically while the boy is whispering over her shoulder in a desperate attempt to get her to at least look at him. Then, in an extremely awkward, socially inappropriate, very public area, the girl will spin around to face boy and start finger pointing and gesticulating aggressively at his chest or head. Boy stands there, leaning slightly forward as if to say, "Please stop admonishing me in front of all of NY. I'm really embarrassed but too chicken to say so..." with a pitiful look on his face. At this point, I am so sick of trying to piece together this whisper fight, I walk off, wondering how it was resolved or what they were even fighting about in the first place.
I mean, c'mon people, it is Christmas. Lighten up. I understand you are EXTREMELY busy/stressed out/stretched too thin or whatever, but I am sure the nothing fight you were just having outside of Starbucks on 84th Street wasn't that important. But, I have to thank these people because it reinforces my belief that my life is not that hard. I could be Girl, whisper screaming at Boy because he brought home the California Roll instead of the Spicy Tuna and he KNOWS that she likes Spicy Tuna rolls on Wednesday nights!

6.09.2010

and i was like baby baby baby oh.

Dear Justin Beiber,
I don't know much about you. I don't know how old you are, where you come from, how you got here... etc. I know I could Google your name and get about 69 trillion websites devoted to you. But I would like to get to know you the old fashioned way. You know, coffee (can you even drink coffee yet?). Maybe, like, a walk in the park and ice cream or something. I don't know... I don't want to hold hands or anything. It just seems like you need someone to talk to.
I am writing to you because I just listened to your song "Baby" featuring Ludacris and I just wanted to tell you that you don't need to worry your beautifully combed head. You are young. And I know that girls are bitches, but you don't have to get off the horse just yet. I mean, your voice hasn't even changed yet. Chicks totally dig that stuff. It just seems that you aren't very good at finding girls that will respect what a sensitive soul you are. I mean, you had an Eenie Meenie Miny Mo lover, a Lonely Girl, and you basically begged a girl to pick you. I mean, I just think you need some guidance.
Justin, chin up. You have many more years of heartbreak. But at least every heart wrenching moment of yours scores like a million dollars in your bank account. So, keep on keepin' on.
And if you want to talk or get ice cream or whatever, hit me up on Twitter: JustinBeiberLVR69
Yours,
Kat

4.25.2010

these are a few things that i'd like to know.

me.
1. if it was my choice, i would cancel the months of november and february.
2. i HATE clowns. and machinery underwater. it gives me a panic attack to think about falling into the jungle cruise around the hippo part. if i did, don't rescue me. i wouldn't want to live through that.
3. i also have a fear of sharks, needles, self inflicted pain and most recently real live snakes.
4. i could live on chips, coffee, peanut butter and beer alone... oh wait, i do.
5. i think cats and horses are weird. i don't trust them.
6. one time i had a competition w. heather in 10th grade: who could wear their jeans the most number of days in a row without having someone notice. there was no winner.
7. i was the only girl on a football team once. i played left tackle/right guard. i gave a boy a bloody nose.
8. once i woke up in the middle of a surgery and punched the doctor.
9. when i travel anywhere alone i fake a british accent because people treat you nicer.
10. my last meal would consist of an arnold palmer half and half, a double turkey cheeseburger and sweet potato fries.
11. i never wear socks.
12. mary martin in peter pan changed my life.
13. i wish i could have gone to college for 8 years cause i love to learn. seriously.
14. one day, i will marry joey fatone.
15. one time i drank mouth wash and barfed for days. don't try it.
16. my middle name is diane.
17. i want to be a graphic designer for prescription drugs. it looks so easy.
18. ultimately i want to end up in a beach house on the cape.
19. i have the best friends in the world. and i'll fight you on that.
20. i love kids the most cause they say the best things ever.
21. i like to make up words and use them IRL.
22. i sing in the shower when my roommates aren't around because we have great acoustics.
23. i really want to go to africa. i don't know if i have the guts.
24. the smell of gasoline is my favorite. no lie.
25. i think my sister is the best thing that ever happened to me. she is the best girl.

dudez.

1. brown hair | black hair | blonde hair | red hair

2. tall | short | same height as you

3. ear piercings | eyebrow piercings | snake bites | no piercings | other

4. tattoos | no tattoos | idgaf

5. skater | punk | player | indie | cowboy | musician | prep | jock | other

6. shy | outgoing | in between

7. mellow | hyper | loud | quiet

8. blue eyes | brown eyes | green eyes

9. wears tight jeans | wears normal jeans | other

10. converse | vans | nikes | skate shoes | other

11. listens to: metal | rap | indie | classic rock | country | all | other

12. compliments too much | compliments when necessary

13. jokes around all the time | jokes when necessary

14. sensitive | hides emotion | acts tough

15. hobbies: computer | music | skating | sports | drawing | fishing | other

16. loves to hold | loves to be held

17. tons of muscles | fit | skinny | chubby

18. pale | average | tan | dark

19. cusses a lot | never cusses | moderately cusses | only cusses around friends | who even gives a fuck

20. wavy hair | curly hair | straight hair | long hair | longish hair | short hair

4.16.2010

we are all, all of us, in the gutter. but some of us are just looking at the stars.

Lately I have found that I have no free time on my hands. I am in the middle of a move on top of a 12 hour work day. I know, what am I complaining about?
But, I am used to being satiated and unemployed. So this is quite odd.
The downside to this madness is that I really don't have a lot of time to peruse the internet. I am behind on my tweets, constantly have 69 notifications on FB (I know, so popular) and 27 Google Buzzes a day. I can't keep track of people telling me how cool I am or sharing cool stuff with me or stalking. Because of this, I am always constantly a few steps behind other people's news. I also am wicked slow on finding out about the new cool blogs and shit. This pisses me off because, on days like today, when I have 2 hours where I should be packing or something, I am fucking fixated on the following websites:
thelovelybones.tumblr.com (currently on pg 34)
tiresome.tumblr.com
gotwisdom.tumblr.com

Basically, I sit here for 2-4 hours and look at how much cooler other people are. It is absolutely addicting for me. I look at these pictures and these quotes and wonder what the fuck I have to do to be that super. I mean it. If I took pictures at all, they would NEVER look like anything resembling anything. Sometimes I take pictures of people's butt cracks. That's about it.
But I sit here.
Hour after hour.
And stare longingly at these erotic pictures of Polly Pockets and wish.

3.02.2010

let's make some music, make some money, have some models for wives

I was conversing with my roommate Jon last night about what I wanted/am going to be when I grow up. Grown up thoughts have been plaguing me these days. I think because my taxes are due and I actually have a real job. And I have been paying bills on time.
Regardless.
Jon and I were discussing grown up thoughts about futures. I told him that I want to be a fierce single mom with a outcast son with some odd name who will probably end up resenting me for my inevitable lack of cool. I want to "dedicate myself to my work" and when I tell people that I do, in fact, do that, I want to mean it. Whatever that work is. I am going to dedicate myself to it. And my outcast son. Jon added in a partner to the mix that enjoys the same past times/passions as me but is involved purely on a marriage of convenience. I think that has some strong pros.

2.04.2010

breakin' up is hard enough

I recently went through a break up. As vague as that sounds, it is truthful. It was recent and it was a break up of a relationship. Very mutual. And ended as well as any ending of a relationship can end.
But, this is my first relationship and my first breakup. Naturally, I am no good at this. It's a very drawn on process. There is that awkward conversation you have with your sister, mom and close buddies where they listen to you go on and on about how okay you are and blah blah blah. And it happens over and over, and after a while, you kinda believe it.
There is also the memorabilia you accumulate over the course of however long you were together. Pictures, tshirts, inside jokes, notes, the list goes on. What do you do with those things? Do you put them in a box and keep them for the rest of your life? Does that make you a hoarder? Or do you throw them out and c'est le vie?
Lastly, there are the possessions left behind. Specifically theirs. I could care less about the black tank top from forever 21 or whatever. But, staring at your socks on my floor is getting really heartbreaking. They smile up at you like, remember when these came off? HA! And now they are there. You can't just throw out socks, people need those. It's winter. So, he might want them back. Which provides another problem... how? Do I send them Fed Ex style with a little note like "Here are your socks back"? Do I actually throw them out into the garbage or donate them to the Salvation Army? They are socks for God's sake but I am baffled. I honestly don't know what to do with them.
So, they sit there, smiling up at me.
Maybe I will hide them under my bed and hope they shut up.

1.17.2010

baby are you down?

I am ashamed to say that it has been over six months since I last updated. I am sure the 5 readers that follow me/read this are super stoked to find a 2010 date at the top of this thing. It is impossible to sum up six months of a life to catch people up. I hate being asked, so, what have you been up to? How can I possibly answer that question in 30 seconds? Do I give a month by month analysis of my life sans the gory details?

"Well, in June, I started camp..." etc etc.

I usually just answer, "Oh, just livin' life!" It is the most simple, avoidance based answer. It is truthful and to the point. I mean, honestly, I am living life. I am just not telling you what my life entails. It's not wrong of me to shield you from the boring details of my job, love life, hobbies and everything in between. I am doing you a favor. I don't really think that you should have to suffer through a 15 minute description of my latest wrestling match with a half naked autistic 8 year old. (I am speaking of my job here, not my hobbies or love life). (Although if you ask my roommates they might say that would be a perfect description of my love life as well).

So, I have been living life. That's pretty much it. If you are extra super curious folk, and want to know more. Please forward any and all specific questions to my Twitter or Facebook accounts which are currently acting as my agents.